Text Size


‘For service of heart, hand and mind.’

Selwyn Village opened its doors on 22nd May 1954.

That date became Founders’ Day, and every year The Selwyn Foundation celebrates the visionaries who made it happen, and everyone who’s contributed to our achievements since then.

In particular, Life Members and Companions of the Foundation are honoured at a service of thanksgiving held in Selwyn Village’s Chapel of Christ the King. They are presented with commemorative medals depicting the images of Bishop and Sarah Selwyn. Specially commissioned in bronze for the occasion, the inscription reads:

‘For service of Heart, Hand and Mind’

 – a sentiment often used by Bishop Selwyn in his sermons and speeches.

Founders’ Day is an homage to long-lasting traditions and honours those who shaped and enriched the Foundation, so that they will be remembered long into the future.

Life Member

Life Members are appointed by The Selwyn Foundation Board in recognition of outstanding service to the Foundation and the wider Selwyn community. Life Members are entitled to vote on any matter or question at any Annual Meeting or Extraordinary Meeting of the Foundation.

New Life Members honoured in 2021
Back row: Garry Smith, Bishop Ross Bay Front row: Dr Kay Hawk, Dr Elizabeth Niven
Current Life Members:
  • Dr Kay Hawk
  • Dr Elizabeth Niven
  • Mrs Sally Naulls
  • Richard Caughey
  • The Reverend Peter Coughlan
  • The Reverend Duncan Macdonald
  • The Right Reverend Richard Randerson


The Selwyn Foundation Board created this new category in 2014 to recognise people who have been generous to the Foundation in their spiritual guidance, leadership or in their gift of time, expertise or for their significant donation.

New Companions honoured in 2021
Back row: Bishop Ross Bay, The Most Reverend Sir David Moxon KNZM , Dr Bart Nuysink, Garry Smith. Front row: The Venerable Lloyd Nau Popata, The Reverend Vicki Sykes, Stewart Hanna
Current Companions:
  • The Most Reverend Sir David Moxon KNZM
  • Dr Bart Nuysink
  • Stewart Hanna
  • The Reverend Vicki Sykes
  • The Venerable Lloyd Nau Popata
  • Sir Chris Farrelly
  • Lorraine Sobotka
  • Mrs Monica Huch
  • Lois Cossey
  • John Whitehead
  • Mr Colin Bowring
  • Mrs Raewyn Fitzsimons
  • The Reverend Stephen Brooker
  • Dr Rod Perkins
  • Professor David Richmond
  • Mr Russell Florence
  • Dame Diane Robertson
  • Dr Chris Perkins
  • Mrs Jan Culpan
  • Mr John Avery
  • Mrs Katie Borobokas
  • Mr John Cameron
  • Mr John Cockcroft
  • Mr Jim Frater
  • The Right Reverend Bruce Gilberd
  • Dr Sue Hancock
  • The Very Reverend Geoffrey Hickman
  • Miss Dawn Jones
  • The Reverend John Marcon
  • The Right Reverend John Paterson
  • Joanna Pidgeon
  • Dr Gillian Reid
  • Professor Russell Stone
  • Mr Graeme Stormont
  • Mrs Beverley Yakas
In Memoriam

We would like to acknowledge the passing in the last year of Selwyn Companion, The Reverend Frank Wright.

Reverend Frank Wright was awarded the honour of Companion in 2014 for his historical research, writings and meticulous archiving, his involvement in many aspects of Selwyn Village life and through his close personal association with our founder, Canon Caswell, Frank was a true ‘Selwynite’ and a great supporter of our Mission. His publication ‘A Vision, a Village and a Future’ published in 2008 is a definitive account of the history of Selwyn and one that continues to inform our staff on our origins and how the Foundation has developed over the years. 

We also remember and give thanks for the work of former Life Members and Companions
  • The Reverend Frank Wright
  • Mr George Langton
  • Miss Betty Pyatt
  • Mr Ross Gregory
  • Mrs Margaret Dunn
  • Reverend Canon Ron Bambury
  • Miss Phyllis Goode
  • Reverend Canon Kenneth R. Small
  • Dr N C Baskett
  • Canon Douglas Caswell
  • Mr C K Harrison
  • Sir Bob Kerridge
  • Captain Stanley Banyard
  • Mr S R English
  • Mr Noel Herries
  • Mrs Shirley Lees